Home Featured Posts The Sunny Morning Show Election 2020 Local Results Recap

Election 2020 Local Results Recap

VOTE, The Sunny Morning Show

Marquette, MINovember 4, 2020 – Incumbents did well in yesterday’s elections in the races for the Michigan House of Representatives. In the 109th District race, Democrat Sara Cambensy defeated Republican challenger Melody Wagner. Cambensy finished with 26,420 votes to Wagner’s 19,644. Cambensy now moves on to serve her third and final term in the state house.

In the 110th District, Republican incumbent Greg Markkanen won with 25,805 votes to Democrat Janet Mesta’s 18,463. In the 108th District, Republican incumbent Representative Beau LaFave had 29,411 votes to Democrat challenger Renee Richer with 16,791.

In the race for Marquette County Sheriff, incumbent Democrat Greg Zyburt held off a challenge from Republican Joseph Kozub by a final vote count of 24,967 for Zyburt and 11,352 votes for Kozub.

In the vote to select three members of the Marquette City Commission, the top three were incumbent Fred Stonehouse with 3,953, and newcomers Jessica Hanley with 3,868 and Cody Mayer with 3,432. The remaining votes went as follows: Paul Schloegel with 3,355, Margaret Brumm with 3,236 and Mike Plourde with 2,650.

Two members of the Marquette Area Public Schools Board of Education were selected yesterday. The top two finishers were Jennifer Ray with 7,275 and Jennifer Klipp with 6,743. They move on to serve six-year terms on the board. Also, two members were voted in on the Marquette Board of Light & Power. They are Ed Angeli and John Sonderegger.

In the Ishpeming City Council race, the top three finishers who are moving onto the council are Jason Chapman, Elizabeth Firby and Stuart Skauge.

In the Ishpeming Mayoral race, Lindsay Bean finished with 1,338, and Pat Scanlon had 1,315.

In the Negaunee City Council race, Tony Stagliano was the top votegetter with 1,321 and Craig Ilmonen had 1,190. Toby Smith finished with 882 votes.

All millage funding requests and renewals put before voters in Marquette County were approved.

-mediaBrew Communications News


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

five − two =