Snyder Declares Six U.P. Counties State of Disaster


    Great Lakes Radio News UpdateMARQUETTE, MI – (Great Lakes Radio News)Six U.P. counties are among 19 counties and two cities declared as a state of disaster by Governor Rick Snyder due to severe flooding.

    Baraga, Gogebic, Houghton, Keweenaw, Marquette and Ontonagon counties along with 13 downstate counties and the cities of Grand Rapids and Ionia, are covered under the Governor’s disaster declaration.

    Snyder says the declaration will ensure that all possible resources, in accordance with the Michigan Emergency Management Plan, will be provided to assist the local response to the flooding, which took place April 9 through May 3.

    He adds that the declaration makes available “all the state resources that are needed to continue supporting local officials in their ongoing work to keep the public safe as the recovery efforts begin.”

    The governor has also asked the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) to join state and local officials later this week to assess the extent of damage to homes, businesses, public facilities and infrastructure.

    Great Lakes Radio – Delivering reliable and accurate local news to you on air, online and on demand


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here

    five × 1 =